28
Mar
08

A brief introduction

Hello there.

I know what you are thinking, so I will clear few things out; Finland is a country and yes indeed we do have comic books and graphic novels here and no we do not live in igloos or have polar bears, sorry that’s Sweden you’re thinking about. Finland is a country that is so small that if a fly would land on a desk-globe 30cm wide and leave a footprint behind it would cover up the whole country, our night lasts 9 months and day 3, these are known as “winter” and “summer” in other countries. We are also generally very grumpy people who hate eachoter.

So it might not be hard to belive we spend alot of time inside our cottages drawing comics while intoxicated and that gives me alot of material to dissect for you. Alot of things have happened with finnish comic books for few years, it almost feels like we are finally going to make our cartoonists known in other countries and getting a bit more professional.. almost. Or to be honest it feels like we are stepping backwards and getting worse nowdays. Nevertheless, we have our own set of The Good, Bad and Ugly cartoonists here and I am going to introduce you to their comics and things they call “comics”. I will refer to finnish comic as we call it here as sarjakuva

This blog will be image-heavy and the first proper entry will be made when I and the guy who fixes computers are not drunk at the same time. That will take about month and a half by the looks of things.


4 Responses to “A brief introduction”


  1. December 10, 2008 at 7:24 am

    Just so you know, there are many of us patiently waiting.

    Bengo
    LilNyet.com

  2. January 11, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Can’t wait, sober up now!

  3. 3 Gogogo
    August 28, 2009 at 8:19 am

    I really hope we Finns will learn more about comics.
    We should stop reading Aku Ankka and strip comics from sunday newspaper for a change, and learn to respect real comics as an art.
    There are many talented comic artists, but still many not so talented have bublished their works. (argh!)
    I’m planning to do a comic myself someday, but I won’t start before I’m sure I can draw certain things right. I don’t want it to be like ‘Vartijat’.
    If my comic will someday be in this page I know I did something wrong…badly. xD

    • 4 finnishcomicsdissected
      October 16, 2009 at 3:36 pm

      Our comic culture really does suck ass.
      People are so adamant about comics only being for little kids even that there is so much so incredible graphic novels that no kid could understand even the simplest thing about them. The new generation of cartoonists are our only hope, but even they seem to be corrupted with the false premise that comics should be simple, silly and for kids.
      My first comic sucked, the second sucks too and I’m working on the script for the third. It takes many tries and even if you end up here in the “KILL IT WITH FIRE”-tag, it’s part of the journey 😀 This blog is all for cheap giggles anyway.
      But yeah. Whatever you do, it will be good if you do research.


Leave a comment




Pages