25
Oct
09

Status Update

In this status update we will cover the subjects of:

Layout, drama, blogroll, scedule, e-mail problems and my general stupidity.

How do I failed perspective?
How do I failed perspective?

So, first of all if anyone has sent me mail in the length of few weeks, I probably have not got it. I have an alternative e-mail besides finnishcomics@gmail.com and it is erkkipaju@hotmail.com, it probably works better. I have had problems with gmail before so I don’t trust it very much.

You have all probably noticed how my layout sucks ass. Even jinx.fi mentioned this problem as following:

“FCD’s layout sucks ass hardcore, only retards use the default layout this long.”

..okay, just kidding what she really said was:

“In my opinion the author should work on some layout issues and image resizing but it’s the content that counts.”

And it is way too true. I hate this layout with burning passion, but I am absolutely impotent, handicapped and retarded when it comes to any sort of computer problems. I can fix a computer if the problem is physical but IT’S NEVER PHYSICAL AUGH!

So I am contacting my tech support tonight and there will be some minor annoyances going on this blog. I will fail so hard ohmygod.

But I still got a seal of awesomeness!

Even my mom didnt approve of me this much ;_;
Even my mom didn’t approve of me this much ;_;

Nova also said something in him entry that I wasn’t aware of – I have apparently stirred up some drama. I have been absolutely oblivious of this! All the drama has happened in IRC-channels, and I never frequent those. Still, I feel so loved and noticed now.

I am a whore.
I am a whore.

As I seem to have few readers (OMG!! liek three! I counted them myself!) I should become a bit more regular with this blog. I will never be dead-set regular, but I will do an entry at least once per month.

Two entries in two weeks, one entry in one-and-a-half month.. something like that. One entry takes me one whole day to do. If I want to make an entry, I have to sit in front of a computer for solid 12 hours, not counting bathroom- and food breaks, so when I am able to write and scan, I will do it. And when I can’t I just fucking can’t because I need so many different gadgets to my reach.

The scedule has nothing to do with this.
The scedule has nothing to do with this.

And least, but not last..

IF YOU HAVE ADDED ME TO YOUR BLOGROLL/LINKS TELL ME! I’d love to add you back if your own site has similar theme to this blog, like different types of comics, finland, or critique.

I am absolutely lost on how to use wordpress even that I have been here at least for a year, so if I seem rude my handicap towards anything digital is to be blamed. I simply just suck.

But now.. off I go! I spent way too much time even on this short and cruddy little status update. Expect an entry in about a month, and after that look forward a theme month which I will announce appropriately.

Sources:

http://jinx.fi/

http://jinx.fi/2009/10/17/novas-blog-discoveries-finnish-comics-dissected/

37 Responses to “Status Update”


  1. 1 Link
    October 25, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Dramu? What about? Where? D:

    Nice corset 😉

    Ffffff, I was enjoying those multiple posts, but all that scanning, and drawing…eeesh, must take you ages, at least going back to regular posting is better than nothing 8D

    Yes, I do comment on all your posts, please don’t hate meh D:

    • 2 Erkki
      October 25, 2009 at 7:52 pm

      Nova explained it all in HIS (not “her” like I rudely assumed) blog, I linked the entry to the sources.

      ..thanks *wink wink*

      Erhemm.. I don’t think I even had a regular posting rythm that I could get back to, so any change will probably be just positive.. hahaa..
      And do comment, I like comments and I am annoyingly talkative. I just can’t answer to long stack of comments because of my layout-issues.

    • 4 Erkki
      October 25, 2009 at 11:58 pm

      Yay let’s be annoying!

      HOMG! Thanks for the news! I think I’ll buy Vartijat and Oblivion High together and do some dissecting. I truly hope they have improved, and I have to admit that I have high expectations for Vartijat right now. Let’s see how it lives up to that. Even that it is “collaborated”.

      • 5 Link
        October 26, 2009 at 10:25 am

        You know I’m gonna try and get you to sell them to me when you’re done right? xD

        Annoying brigade!!!! 8D

        Homg, new layout, confusing! D:

    • 6 Erkki
      October 26, 2009 at 9:39 pm

      I can give them to you for the price of shipping as I am going to get them second-hand anyway so.. sure!

      And this layout will probably stick for a while now! I hope you’ll get used to it soon.

      • 7 Link
        November 1, 2009 at 4:39 pm

        Sweet 8D (I’m referring to both Vartijats fyi)

        Excuse me a second.
        Motherfucking hotmail, not fucking notifying me of motherfucking comments. Perkele.

        It’s a cool layout, but now you have to be careful of posting pics too wide, the sidebar gets in the way D:

      • 8 Erkki
        November 3, 2009 at 2:31 pm

        Actually, the last layout was worse, it was only about 450 pixels wide and this is over 600 so I finally have room for pictures.

      • 9 Link
        November 3, 2009 at 4:21 pm

        The Vartijat post disagrees with you lol 😀

      • 10 Erkki
        November 7, 2009 at 10:10 pm

        Fucking hell.

        I’m going to fix that NOW. I should’ve fixed it MONTHS ago, it never looked good! Vartijat will just never stop haunting me.. Thanks for noting me! Seems like this whole weekend goes to fixing the layout.

      • 11 Link
        November 7, 2009 at 11:13 pm

        xD

        You can just view the pic by right clicking and selecting ‘view image’ and it opens in another window, but not everyone is smart enough to do that lol

      • 12 Erkki
        November 8, 2009 at 1:28 pm

        Yeah, but the main reason to change it is that I don’t want to force my readers to jump trough unnecessary hoops. I got alot to fix from my hand writing to learning some.. computer.. stuff..

        Annoying how these long convos don’t follow up in straight lines, eh?

      • 13 Link
        November 8, 2009 at 5:10 pm

        I was rage-ing slightly at the fact I hit ‘reply’ yet it posted a totally separate comment :\

  2. October 25, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    I’m addicted to your blog now 😀 Found it through Jinx! and read it all. Your texts are just ass-cracking fun to read most of the time.
    And I guess the best thing in showing the worst and greatest Finnish comics is that I feel I can do something too – maybe my dream is that my future comic would be dissected and I could be proud or just laugh at my stupidity. Either way works fine.
    But do write these more often, yes. YES.

    • 15 Erkki
      October 25, 2009 at 8:03 pm

      I owe Jinx alot. Oh man.
      It’s good if there would be an actual “front” of new finnish cartoonists who would at least TRY. My first comic was shit, my second is kinda shit and some day I’ll get it too. To be honest, no one should be discouraged by my snarkiness, they should just strive for better. Most people just fall flat on their face when “research” is mentioned.
      So yes, make a comic 8D tee hee hee I’ll be waiting
      And thank you bunches!

  3. October 25, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Dude, I really hate to break it for you but I’m male -.-
    You’re not the first one to think I’m female though.
    “Mä luulin et sä olit tyttö!” <-heard at a certain LAN-party…

    • 17 Erkki
      October 25, 2009 at 8:05 pm

      My world is shattered! NOOO IT CAN’T BE!
      ..sorry, sir I swear I will get it right next time!

      But look on the bright side, at least no one thinks you’re a girl when they meet you “IRL” 😀

  4. 18 Random Passerby
    October 25, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Hey hey, I think it’s unfair to say that all Finnish manga artists are untalented, (except for Maaria, it seems.) There’s many very talented artists, but they just haven’t published anything. And some of them propably never will, because you really don’t have much chances to draw comics professionally in Finland. But DeviantArt is full of them.

    I know this blog’s supposed to be funny, that this is all about mocking and that you are not quite serious. (I hope.) But still. I also don’t really take this blog seriously, but just had to say in case some of those artists happen to visit. I’m not sure if they find this as funny as everyone else…

    Tha’s all. I’ll go now.

    • 19 Erkki
      October 26, 2009 at 12:22 am

      There’s plenty of chances to do comics professionally in Finland! Especially finnmanga. When I was calling to publishers for some consoling about comics the conversation always went like this:
      Me: “Hello, I made a comic and I want to kno-”
      Publisher: “Is it manga?”
      If you do finnmanga, you are so wanted in big publishers that you will get fought over, and raped by the big machines (like poor Elli who will probably forever suffer from Bloated Ego and never improve because of it, she got into it too young)
      Also, if you do just a self-publish and sell even one comic, you are a professional. But being good and being professional is different than professing a career. And you can be professional even if you don’t make money from it, but that’s a whole different story.
      I could go on and on and on :D!

      But why on earth do you think I think every finnmanga-artist is untalented even that you yourself acknowledged that I admitted at least one to be talented?? Admittedly finnmanga is the pit where everything is 99% pure shit, but so is many other sub-category and even main category of comics. The majority will always be shit. Especially when you trace or eyeball or can never overcome your influences.

      I am a man who wears a balaklava, is ridicilously alcoholic and in this entry – borrowed a corset from a bear.. do you really think anyone can take this seriously? I wish everyone could laugh at themselves even when making mistakes and improve. I love finnish comics, but 95% of them at this moment SUCK and I want to do something about it.

      Oh, and thanks for passing by! I am very talkative so do bring any matter to my attention that bothers you, if I can do something about it.

  5. October 26, 2009 at 5:59 am

    As I stated in my own post:
    “Commercial comics are published to make money and there should be no moral obstacles in criticizing them. If someone commercially publishes a comic book that would be sub-par even for a free webcomic, who is being unfair? The one who criticized the product for not giving the customer his money’s worth?”

    The thing is, it seems to be part of the Finnish character to always see criticism as a personal attack that must be fought back, even when it’s not directed at the Finn himself! What would I think if I was an artist and ended up in here seeing my work being mocked? Probably I’d be somewhat pissed. But I’d probably also think “What did I do wrong?” and reflect on my mistakes to do things better in the future. Completely criticless environments such as DeviantArt will not cultivate competent artists but only self-absorbed individuals fixated on their own awesomeness, utterly unable to take even a slightest bit of criticism.

    If you can’t handle criticism, what are you doing publishing creative works in the first place?

    • 21 Erkki
      October 26, 2009 at 9:48 pm

      I couldn’t have said it better than you did. In Finland it is absolutely forbidden to criticize anything. Even art critique is forbidden despite it being very helpful! The bottom line is: I do not hate anyone, I don’t think anyone in this blog has a bad persona, at worst I merely think that their art is shit. This needs a separate entry..

      Oh, and I wonder if you meant to reply as a new comment. I just changed the layout so it might’ve confused things.

  6. 22 Valitettava
    October 27, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    The new layout puzzled me at first but now I think it’s nice and dark and nice. Nicely dark 🙂

    I found this blog last spring (can’t remember how…) and instantly fell in love with it. I have read all your entries several times because they are so hilarious and contain many important things about comics. I’m really looking forward to your new entries! 🙂

    • 23 Erkki
      October 27, 2009 at 7:17 pm

      Good to hear! I just have to edit half of my entries before I do a new post as the new layout actually works and thus botched my entries where I tried to cheat the old one to work.

      I’m glad this blog is also informative! Thanks so much 😀 I will try my best and stay amusing.

  7. 24 Somethingwitty
    October 27, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    I’m aspiring comic-artist. I have only published couple of comics in small magazines and some illustrations, but I’m working on my own book now that I intend to self-publish.

    And I find this blog hilarious. Hell, my style is most likely to be linked with this hated “finnmanga”, but I still find this blog funny. Who knows, maybe my own book will end up here someday? Of course I would be sad if somebody ripped my book apart, but… well, if that happens it happens. It wouldn’t stop me from drawing, it would most likely to give me more will to get better. I like critizism. It helps me to get better, and honestly, to being rude to me can actually help more than being polite… Since I’m rather short-tempered, if somebody rudely insults my work, I get mad. But rather than going to cry in corner, I start to practise like a maniac, so I could show these people I can be better. “You said my drawings look like shit??? Well see ya after I’ve studied this 1000-pages long anatomy book and some colortheory!!” Yeah, kinda weird inverse psychology, I know…

    • 25 Erkki
      October 27, 2009 at 7:32 pm

      Good luck no matter what style you represent! It’s very rewarding experience that teaches you so much that even if your comic won’t be awe-inspiring, it will be worth it.

      To be honest the generation before you were influenced by french comics and emulated the mid-european style and before that it was the american style and now the styles have completely blended in with their own, unique history. Finnmanga might be 99% shit right now, but if we get enough people who stop tracing screenshots and adapt the style AFTER studying anatomy and nature the finnmanga will also blend in some day and become respectable. I just wish to give it some tough love so it won’t grow up into complete brat as amazingly much of the finnmanga and manga audience altogether takes critique as something horrible and detrimental, even that they should be doing just what you described – go “FUCK YOU!”, study, research and grow and shove it in the face of the critics.
      Unfortunately majority just goes into their hug-boxes until they forget all the negative words they heard and the new talents learn to think that it is the right way.

      So yeah, it is not very weird psychology, no one knows what they do wrong until they are shown HOW they go wrong. My blog has a rather unfortunate comical and satirical overtone, but then again I use it in hopes that people will be able to also laugh at themselves.

  8. 26 Ivan the Rabrabian
    October 27, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Well, I don’t know if it will work but let’s try.

    And, I am not sure, because I am a newcomer to blogs…is it okay to post links like that here or not? Maybe there is a more convenient way to put it into your mail.

    • 27 Erkki
      October 27, 2009 at 8:29 pm

      YAY 😀 the guys saw it, then! My friend told me that they absolutely need to read it but I went just “Bah, like they’ll read it!” so this is awesome. Thanks for pointing it out (I saw the link by signing into my ninja-account I created years ago, btw)

      Oh, and if you need to send me mail you can use the ones I mentioned above finnishcomics@gmail.com or erkkipaju@hotmail.com
      If I don’t answer at the gmail account in three days, try hotmail because then I just simply didn’t get the mail. I am perfectly fine with links in here, but yeah.

  9. November 7, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    I’ve had you on my blogroll for several months now, mostly because I think your blog totally rocks. You manage to be absolutely hilarious while having some actually good points, which is pretty rare, so keep up the good work!

    I don’t really expect you to link back though, since my blog’s all about yaoi, even though I very often focus on the things I dislike about it. Just wanted to let you know there’s probably more than three people who like reading your posts. ;D

    • 29 Erkki
      November 7, 2009 at 10:30 pm

      I sneak the education in like an annoying kid’s program! “Paper!”, “Ink!”, “Skill!”, “Plot!”, “Heart!” With your powers combined I am the Comic Dissector!
      ..okay, that was lame. But hey, thank you!

      You gotta be tough to the fandom or art form you love, or it will never grow.
      While peeking at your blog I just about died at the “yhyybyhyy kuollaan lumeen yhyhyhy” Your blog deserves a link-back xD if anyone of my blog’s readers will go “Why the fuck do you link to a yaoi blog??” it will be hilarious. I have actually no problem with yaoi, yuri or romance altogether, if it’s well drawn and the characters have depth I will read it.

      By the way.. you know of any finnish yaoi comics I could read? I’ve heard about them existing, but I’ve never seen one. Finns must be just shy.. er.. apart from Kati Kovach, Petri Hiltunen, the whole cast of Pahkasika, Myrkky and.. OKAY OKAY it’s just BIZARRE I haven’t seen a finnish yaoi comic yet! We have no shame! Where’s the gay lovins??
      But yeah.. if you don’t know of any finnish ones, what would you recommend to a person who laughed at the end of Titanic, wishes to see Edward Cullen gutted but still somehow sat trough the whole series of “Rose of Versailles”? This could be interesting..

      • November 16, 2009 at 4:03 pm

        Oh dear it took me a while to notice you’d replied. But woah, thanks a bunch for linking me back! My blog’s name is actually “My Thoughts on Yaoi”, but Yaoi Show looks even more amusing so I don’t mind.

        And then the Finnish BL comics you asked about… I had to do some digging because really, there aren’t that many of those. This Kingdom Hearts doujinshi was sold at Animecon 2006, but it’s out of print now. You can read the whole thing on the website though. I also found this, but it’s just another short webcomic. And err, that’s about it, at least for now. I’m actually in the middle of trying to read all the BL related webcomics I can find, and I’ll write some sort of report on my blog after I’ve gone through enough shit and can’t take it anymore. Maybe I’ll find more Finnish comics in the process too!

        If you liked Rose of Versailles, you might also appreciate the old shounen-ai classics by Moto Hagio and Keiko Takemiya. You could also try Gerard & Jacques by Fumi Yoshinaga. Actually, everything she’s done is probably worth reading, not just if you’re looking for good BL but for good manga in general.

    • 31 Erkki
      November 16, 2009 at 5:02 pm

      I was hoping you would comment to that. I picked the description that was shorter so it would fit better and kinda regret it.

      Oh good god, I have heard about that Kingdom Hearts doujinshi, but never thought I’d actually find it for a read. This just might be the day galaxies explode and Keinonen ascends on Earth to punish us all (tuomionpäivä! Keinosen nimipäivä!)
      I’ll look forward to your summary of the web comics. When something is too bad to be published it goes to self publishing and when it’s too bad for even that it is a web comic. Have courage, there will be some gold, too!

      This will be interesting xD I’ve always boasted how I don’t discriminate comics for the subject matter, but there has been just too much of romance-themed sub-genres of comics that I have not bothered to find good series amongst them all.

  10. 32 Vio
    November 24, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    More frequent posts to come? Please excuse me while I spend a few moments running gleefully around my flat.
    This is my first time posting a reply to ANY Finnish blog (you may or may not consider yourself special now), but the fact I can now expect more posts from you has lured me from my mute, special lurking corner since this piece of news will likely improve my quality of life. About ten times. Or more.
    So, thank you.

    Also, if I were a comic artist that got dissected here, my reaction would be something along the lines of, “Awesome! The Great Dissecter is dissecting my thing!” (Followed by a moment of weeping.)

    • 33 Comic Dissector
      November 25, 2009 at 6:39 pm

      I feel so special now ;_;
      Yeah, I’ll get more regular now. Bad comics have a lot of fiber, and I just took a trip to buy new ones.

      Bwahaha, oh but I sometimes even praise people! ..sometimes

  11. November 25, 2009 at 12:15 am

    I BLOGROLL’D YOU ♥
    Don’t feel obliged to link back to me – my site isn’t about either of those subjects after all, so it’s perfectly fine :’D

    I enjoy reading your blog a lot and I’M HAPPY YOU’RE UPDATING AGAIN YAY \o/

    • 35 Comic Dissector
      November 25, 2009 at 6:43 pm

      It’s about art, so it’s fine FFFFFF I should’ve put your blog on rss feed ages ago, but I didn’t learn how to use it. Besides maybe then you will be pressured to do more comics.. I could be mean and be all like “THIS IS A COMIC BLOG COME HERE” 😀

      You won’t get rid of meee!!1

  12. July 20, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    Mielenkiintoinen blogi sinulla 😀 Piti lisätä linkkilistalle kun olen randomisti silloin tällöin käynyt stalkkeroimassa 😀


Leave a Reply

